Auto Insurance Coverage Questions
Asheville Personal Injury Attorney Explains
People often wonder how much auto insurance they should carry.
Here at Fisher Stark, P.A., our personal injury lawyers say the answer is simple…carry as much as auto insurance as you can reasonably afford.
Let’s look at why.
According to the most recent data nearly 1 in 8 drivers do not have any insurance coverage at all even though North Carolina law requires all vehicles with a valid North Carolina registration to have continuous liability insurance. This could be why North Carolina also requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage can help protect you if a driver hits you but does not have liability insurance of their own. Even if the other driver has insurance, you could still be at financial risk if the damage costs, either to your property or for personal injury, are greater than the other person’s amount of insurance coverage.
If you want to have more personal coverage, you could choose to add under-insured motorist coverage to your auto insurance policies. We will explore both uninsured and under-insured coverage more below:
The Top 4 Auto Insurance Coverage Questions
What Are North Carolina’s Auto Insurance Requirements?
North Carolina law requires 30/60/25 liability limits for auto insurance. These split limits for liability are $30,000 per person for maximum bodily injury, $60,000 for total bodily injury from an accident (the maximum amount that is available for any one accident), and $25,000 for maximum property damage. North Carolina also requires coverage for uninsured motorists, which is usually bundled in with your liability coverage.
What Is The Difference Between Uninsured And Underinsured Insurance Coverage?
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is meant to cover you if you are in an accident caused by a driver who does not have liability insurance. These policies may also cover hit-and-run accidents. North Carolina requires the UM coverage to equal the highest limits of bodily injury liability coverage. For example, if you carry the minimum $30,000 bodily injury liability, then you must also carry $30,000 in uninsured motorist coverage.
Underinsured motorist (UIM) policies provide you with coverage if the at-fault driver’s insurance policy is insufficient to fully and fairly compensate for your injuries, harms and damages. Usually, the UIM coverage will be equal to the highest limits of your bodily injury liability coverage. North Carolina does not require all drivers to carry underinsured motorist coverage, but many choose to anyway and it is highly recommended you carry as much UIM coverage as you can afford.
Should I Only Carry the Minimum Auto Insurance Required by NC Law?
It is better to be safe than sorry. North Carolina may only require 30/60/25 liability insurance, but it is recommended to carry more. Having higher liability insurance can help protect you from being personally liable for huge financial burdens for medical expenses and other damages to another driver.
If your insurance does not cover the driver’s damages, you may be required to cover the difference. This could even lead to losing your personal assets. Carrying more insurance can also help the person(s) that are hurt in a crash from sometimes devastating losses.
Should I Get Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Yes! Here at Fisher Stark, P.A. we see client after client who is catastrophically injured through no fault of their own but are left holding the bag because the person who hit them does not adequate insurance coverage.
Think about it, if someone hits you and only has $30,000 in available coverage, but you spend time in the hospital, miss work or are permanently hurt, that $30,000 is nowhere near enough to fairly compensate for what is taken from you.
If the at-fault driver’s insurance does not cover your medical expenses, lost wages or other damages such as pain and suffering, UIM coverage may cover the remaining balance or at least provide additional compensation to help you out.
Many drivers may choose to carry only the minimum required insurance coverage and medical bills can quickly surpass the minimum coverage amount. It is recommended you carry as much UIM coverage as you can reasonably afford.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a motor vehicle accident here in Western North Carolina, the personal injury lawyers Fisher Stark P.A. can help.
We are based in Asheville, NC but offer free consultations over the phone or video chat. All you have to do is call us at (828) 505-4300 or contact us via email at https://fisherstark.com/contact-us/
As auto accident lawyers, we have successfully obtained fair compensation for many of our clients over the years. We are not intimidated by insurance companies or other attorneys. We don’t settle out of convenience or fear of going to trial. We will fight to get you the fair and reasonable compensation you deserve.
We will work hard to get you the justice & fair compensation you deserve. Fisher Stark, P.A. is a highly respected personal injury law firm in Asheville, NC. We provide experienced legal help for clients in Buncombe County and all of Western North Carolina. Collectively, our legal team – Perry Fisher, Brad Stark and Megan Silver – have more than 50 years of trial practice, and have participated in more than 1,000 personal injury & accident cases. Call Fisher Stark, P.A. at 828-505-4300 for a free consultation OR take our quiz >> “Is It Time to Hire a Personal Injury Attorney?”