Jury service is one of the most valuable contributions you can make as a citizen. By serving as a juror, you are helping to protect one of the most important rights guaranteed by the United States and North Carolina Constitutions: the right to a trial by jury. Below is some information regarding jury service. We hope it will answer some of the questions and concerns you may have.

Jury Service FAQs

Every two years, the Jury Commission for your county compiles a master jury list of names randomly selected from residents who have driver’s license records or are registered voters. If you have received a jury summons, it is because your name was randomly selected.

The amount of time you are required to serve as a juror depends on the particular case you are selected for. However, the majority of trials are concluded within two to three days.

As a juror, you will be asked to listen to evidence and determine the credibility of that evidence. No special training is needed – all you need to do is listen carefully and use your common sense.

Jurors will receive $12 for the first day of service and $20 for the second through fifth days. If your jury service goes beyond five days, you will be paid $40 for each day thereafter.

Although there is no formal dress code, you should dress comfortably and appropriately. It may be helpful to dress in layers, as courtroom temperatures can vary considerably.

Under state law, an employer may not fire or demote you as a result of your jury duty.

A jury summons is an official court summons. Failure to report to jury duty may result in a fine. You may also be held in contempt by the court.



We welcome the opportunity to collaborate with other legal professionals. Healthy competition is what keeps the market open and affordable, but what makes us all most successful is good old-fashioned teamwork. We’re eager to work with other law offices to make sure that clients get the representation that is best suited to their needs. If we are unable to handle a case, we make the effort to find someone who is able. The attorneys at Fisher Stark are available for referrals in the following cases:

  • Auto accidents
  • Back injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Slips and falls
  • Assault and battery
  • Wrongful death
  • Construction site injuries
  • Neck & Spine injuries
  • Motorcycle accidents
  • Bicycle accidents
  • Catastrophic injuries
  • Trucking accidents
  • Product liability
  • Injuries caused by impaired persons
  • Car crash injuries
  • Dangerous dogs
  • Airplane crashes
  • Defective products
  • Injuries from burns/chemical exposure/battery defects
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Auto Accident Claims

Don’t hesitate. If you think a client could benefit from our representation in the above areas, send them our way for a case evaluation. We’ll do the same. We’re proud to be a part of Western North Carolina’s legal community, and we look forward to working together to provide the best service possible.

Frequently Asked Questions

Law firms typically offer a variety of payment options. Depending on the type of case, fees can be paid upfront or on a contingent fee basis. A contingency fee agreement means that you do not pay legal fees unless and until you win. The lawyer’s fee is then a percentage of your recovery.

If you need legal assistance or if you believe you have a legal claim, one of our attorneys would be happy to meet with you for a free consultation so that we can evaluate your case. Please contact us to schedule an appointment.

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident, one of the first things you should do is see a doctor who can determine the extent of your injuries and monitor your recovery. In addition, if you eventually decide to bring a legal claim against the driver of the other vehicle, you will need your doctor’s documentation of your injuries. You should also contact an experienced attorney to discuss your rights and potential legal claims.
If you decide to pursue a legal claim against the other driver, it is best to speak with an attorney right away. There are certain time limits in which a case must be filed and these time limits vary depending on the state you are in and the type of claim being brought.
Personal injury lawsuits can vary anywhere from weeks to years. The amount of time depends on a number of factors, including the complexity of the case, the number of parties involved, and the claims being brought.
If the insurance company offers you a check, it is a good idea to speak with an attorney before you accept or sign anything. Accepting a check may result in the loss of valuable legal rights and claims you may have against the other party.
The dollar amount of your legal claim is highly dependent on a number of factors, including the type and severity of injuries sustained and the particular circumstances of your case. It is impossible for a lawyer to give you an exact number. Hiring an experienced lawyer will increase your likelihood of getting an amount you deserve.

Safety & Personal Information

Traumatic Brain Injury


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Alternative Dispute Resolution

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.